Your time starts now!

‘Unlock the mind’ the challenge says. Type or write for 20 minutes. So far 15 minutes have passed by and this is as far as I’ve got. I think I need to start the clock again… I know I don’t have to post this, it’s just that it always feels so wasteful to keep stuff private. Even if it makes absolutely no sense to anyone else, it meant something to me when I wrote it.

Normally I don’t have a problem to write when I know the starting point. Today the start is quite elusive, could have something to do with the cold that bowled me over early on Sunday morning. Saturday I went to bed reasonably early feeling quite zippy, then Sunday awoke well before the alarm to aches and pains the length of my body. I couldn’t breathe and it felt like my teeth had been swapped for a decent horse bite. I retreated under the covers and surfaced late in the day feeling less than human. Today has been better, although now te runny nose and husky voice have kicked in and that really worries me as I have a private tour booked for Wednesday and because it’s been arranged for months already, there is no way I’m letting something as minor as a head cold get in the way of this.

I’ve tanked up on my Finrexin (blackcurrant flavour), as well as the usual honey / lemon combo. Finrexin has been a constant in my life ever since moving here (and before!). In our family we call it hot drink. I have absolutely no idea why it scored this moniker, although I guess you might get a clue from the fact that you tip the powder into a mug, pour in boiling water, stir and enjoy. I’m not one to get too fussed about the contents. The only allergies in our house are food related, and if we are really specific it’s seafood that is the big offender. So I’m sure Finrexin has some ingredients that include syllables thas start with phy- or psy- but like I say, I’m not that fussed. At the end of the day it helps the symptoms feel a little less bad and that has to be a good thing. Right?

My mind keeps wandering away from the task at hand. I have a meeting with my course advisor tomorrow, the tour on Wednesday, Thursday is looking blank for now, although I’m fairly certain that will change and Friday sees me at the harbour to welcome one of the last cruise ships of the 2014 summer Baltic season. Of course, not to be confused with the daily arrivals from Stockholm and Tallinn. That traffic continues year round, regardless of weather.

And that concludes my 20 minutes, actually it’s more like 30! Let’s see how tomorrow goes.

2 comments

  1. I guess your Finrexin is the same as our Lemsip. Tough guy that I am I always have to take sugar with mine πŸ™‚
    Last cruise ship of the summer:the seasons are changing. I like it!

    Like

  2. I can’t add a picture to my reply, so instead you’ve scored your very own post! As for the end of summer, it’s holding on still – we’re having a really nice autumn.

    Like

I've said my bit! Now it's your turn :) Go on, have your say.

