aside Signs of summer # 01

I’ll just jump right over summer time and the whole moving the clocks forward bit. That comes every year at the same time (last weekend of March here in Finland / Europe) and so isn’t really an indication of summer.

Not like mopo-pojat (mopo boys).

As soon as the streets are clear of winter (gravel etc) and the temperatures have moved into plus (and not by much I might add), they are out. You rarely see / hear them in the mornings. No, this creature enjoys the long dusk hours and delights in riding up and down empty streets, doing the block and other seemingly pointless trips – on the back of a relatively powerless (but noisy) motorbike.

I heard my first specimen a few nights ago and tonight I was fortunate enough to follow them home.

Yes, indeed summer has arrived.

2 comments

I've said my bit! Now it's your turn :) Go on, have your say.

