Back to basics.

Or catching up with the first 4 days of the zero to hero challenge.

Regular visitors here may have noticed my blogging action has been very thin on the ground lately. My mojo fizzled out and no matter how much I tried, it just wasn’t to be found. (You should the drafts folder – full of discarded posts!) Not only that, I wasn’t even visiting my favourite blogs often enough. Then this challenge arrived in my inbox last week and that little spark was lit. One of my other blogs has been very troublesome for me, so I decided to start over there. The first post was quickly followed by a couple of changes and another post and just like that it all feels normal. So without further fuss and carry on here are challenges 1, 2 and 3 all rolled into one!

Day 1: Who am I and why am I here?

I’ve read some really great who am I posts in the last few days. In the context of this blog, I’m a Tasmanian who has been living in Finland for the last 13 or so years. I’m also a small business owner, a mum, a volunteer. If you ask my son (Mr. 14) I’m a tyrant who always says no (not true). If you ask my husband (The Engineer) he might tell you I’m a great cook although my housekeeping skills leave a bit to be desired. If you ask my friends, they’ll tell you I haven’t changed a bit and am way too generous for my own good. If Perry (our dog) could talk he’d say I’m the mean one that showers him but I also let him run off the leash whenever possible. I try to blog on the curiosity that is living in Finland. My first few years were spent getting the hang of it all. Sometimes it was easy, sometimes downright frustrating. Now I just want to share my life in Finland with you. Sometimes I get a bit serious, although for the most part my style is pretty relaxed and laid back.

DAY 2: WHAT’S YOUR NAME?

My URL is Tasmanialainen which is the Finnish way to say ‘someone from Tasmania’, while the word “Taswegian” in the title is what we Tasmanians call ourselves. I’m not going to change the title – it says exactly who I am. However the tag will be tweaked from “10 years on…my life in Suomi – the land of sauna, salmiakki and sinappi”Β to say “There’s more to living in Finland than Angry Birds, Marimekko and Nokia…” Check out the “In a nutshell” and you’ll see a very brief summary of what this blog is all about.

DAY 3: WHAT’S ON YOUR MIND?

My first post is here and it’s funny reading it again after all this time. It says absolutely nothing about who I am or what I was hoping to gain from being a blogger. So two years and 148 posts later I’m happy to say that overall the blogging sphere has been pretty good. Even though I didn’t state my goals early in the piece, I’ve built a nice following. I try and interact with everyone that drops by, even if it’s just to pop over, have a look and say hello. Hopefully the next two years will continue along the same lines.

DAY 4: EXPLORE THE NEIGHBOURHOOD

Over the past two years I’ve added blogs to my reader, deleted them, changed the publishing status from daily to instant to weekly to never, and then back again. My reader list currently has 104 blogs. It’s probably time to go through the list again! My blog roll over on the left also needs some work. If you click on one of the links and it doesn’t work please let me know! I do have to share this blog though: Identity. Last year a lively lass from the US who was living in Sweden liked my blog. I waved back and started following her blog. All I can say is that Regan’s life quickly turned topsy-turvy. At some point it became obvious that Regan wasn’t who she said she was and her life was as much fiction as fact. Still the faithful followers kept commenting all the way to the climatic end. What an ending it was. Today came the first episode of a new series, a real cliff-hanger and already the fans are lining up. Come along and join us!

Now I’m all caught up! See you tomorrow for day 5 πŸ™‚

2 comments

  1. Thank you so much – from me and Regan πŸ˜‰
    I decided to avoid commenting myself on the Identity blog so that people could chat and speculate freely without being overly conscious of me reading it all, but I have been so beyond thrilled by the comments today – and loving how the “old team” as Andy puts it, are reforming!!
    I’m still in the first few years of figuring out life in Sweden – I’m not quite as lost as Regan was, maybe, but it’s had its ups and downs and I think I’m starting to get the hang of it…

    Like

    • And just when you think you’ve got the hang of things something comes along that just makes you go AAAARGH!
      PS: The invite to look me up if you are ever in this part of the world still stands πŸ™‚

      Like

I've said my bit! Now it's your turn :) Go on, have your say.

