Catching up!

Summer School! It was great. I don’t want to reblog, and I don’t want to use all the same text here…. The summer school and some Helsinki info is over on the Heather’s Helsinki blog, if you’re not following that one, here is a quick link to get you over there!

The class mates were really great, and we had a lot of laughs and fun in class. With such a broad range of nationalities represented there was plenty of opportunity to share and compare. The co-ordinator had managed to gather up a really broad range of guest speakers, some inspired great passion amongst the class! The majority were staying in hostel or student accommodation and the thought did cross my mind that I could do that also if I do another summer school course…. Maybe not. Let’s see what happens next year!

The cafeteria food from the kitchen at Hanken (School of Economics) was very good, and the kitchen ladies super friendly. Lunch tastes so much better when it’s served with a smile πŸ™‚ The campus internet worked fairly well (some mornings it seemed to be onΒ  a go slow) and all up it was a good introduction to learning in the 21st century. I am sooo last century!

Now I have to get back to normal life. Remember the ‘formal‘ night. Ah, well tonight is the next one. I must admit I didn’t take too much notice of the invite when it arrived ‘Iltapuku’. Sunday I double checked, with a picture search as well. My worst fears confirmed. A girlfriend had mentioned months ago that she know of a boutique having really good prices. I called, unfortunately that shop is closed down for good. She threw some names at me, both of whom I recognised from tram trips through the city.

Monday afternoon I walked into their shop, and 20 minutes later (ok, maybe 30 minutes) walked out with dress, shawl and shoes. Turns out that spending an hour the night before researching dress styles for pear-shaped figures really pays off. I told them what I needed, and got the right dress with the minimum of fuss! I have to say, it’s a great looking dress and I think I might just have to show it off! Yes, Kanerva unveiled, coming soon toΒ  a screen near you πŸ™‚

I have three other things to get off my chest, all of which I’ll get into more detail in coming posts. Six word Saturday will be all about a tough decision we had to make earlier this year. Monday I have an interview with another learning institution (looking for an Official Helsinki Guide?) and we’re adopting a furry four-legged creature in the coming months.

Oh, it was my birthday last week earlier in the week (21st if you must know) and at 46, I have to say things are looking not bad at all! Now to read some blogs that I haven’t visited much lately and check the comments. Nice to be back, if only for a short while.

6 comments

  1. I have been thinking about going back to school and your post had such a happy time to it…I just may do it! I think I would pass on the formals, but as far as I know they don’t have those much in the US unless you are involved in the Greek system, which I would not be.

    Like

I've said my bit! Now it's your turn :) Go on, have your say.

