My blogging life… or how did it get like this?

I love Pink and Raise your glass (better known to me as Why so serious) is as good a song for today as any. The first thing I remember hearing this morning was Cher and Turn back time, and that fits today’s theme of what I’ve learnt about blogging so far.

If I could go back in time, I would know NOT to click the notify by email button for more comments after commenting on a freshly pressed page.  I often read my mails on the go, and after commenting on a post that had me laughing out loud from start to finish I commented (as you do and should after something good comes into your life). Now, I’m a pretty modern woman and much of my life (with the exception of actually writing a blog) is done via my phone.

I use my phone for pretty much everything and life would grind to a halt fairly quickly if I was to lose it. What I wasn’t ready for (as I’m quite sure neither was Sweet Mother) was the total deluge of comments and subsequent mails. For at least three days after my post, every time I opened the mail icon the unread message count climbed and climbed. I’ve since found that there is link to comments I’ve made so I don’t have to subscribe for comments anymore and can go back and see if the host answered / noted  my  comment. What’s more, the comments still keep coming. Bravo Sweet Mother for answering us all!

When I started this it was practice for my setting up the business blog, which does still exist and where I’ll be heading just as soon as this gets posted. This blog has a life now that has taken me totally by surprise. (I’ve also noted that my English can do with the practice. I’ve just edited a couple of sentences above that were very Finnish in their construction!) I have regular readers who comment and it’s not surprising to see the same names & faces pop up here and there on other blogs I follow. The Word Press world is not so large after all!

As much as I would like to post everyday, even with the publishing later option, it’s just not always possible, plus I can’t honestly write something today to post later. I did it once, and it felt so weird and false that I’m not heading down that track again. Also, I’m a little old-fashioned in that if someone takes the time to comment then that effort deserves at least an acknowledgement,  and I know that my current daily routine doesn’t allow me the luxury of having word press open ready to comment back. The email option works, provided I get to through the daily flood in good time… or I don’t get sidetracked into reading a new blog…

I’m not a huge stats follower, as I presume if I visit a page today, and have to go back tomorrow to finish reading that will count as two visits. The page I like the most is the map highlighting (top of this page) where you, the reader are. The little winking dots make me think of those night-time pictures of earth and all the big cities spread out.

This is not the post I had planned for today. It is lurking in the back awaiting some editing. I’m on anoppi’s computer and it’s a Mac and I’m having a heap of problems working out how to use it.  Adding links and pretty pictures seems to be a task equivalent to launching the next mission to Mars so I’ll wait until I’m in front of my own machine.

Hyvää pääsiäistä / Happy Easter

editing question here: why is Finnish the word always tagged in my spell check?!?!

2 comments

  1. And here I was thinking I’m the only one silly enough to click ‘follow comments by email’. I, too, learned the hard way… on Freshly Pressed post. Never again!

    Excellent post!

    Like

    • Thank you Alex! I’m sure there are legions of us out there… probably enough for a support group even 😉

      Like

I've said my bit! Now it's your turn :) Go on, have your say.

