Sandwich makers and rescuing Sunday dinner

We have one of these nifty multi-tasking sandwich makers. We bought it maybe 4 years ago at about this time of the year. 3-in-1: waffles, toasted sandwiches (toasties) and then a grill plate for baguette or pieces of meat, vegetables etc.

When I was a student the sandwich maker was a kitchen essential. Perfect for quick snacks   in between finishing studies and work, or work and playing or lazy Sunday dinners when the thought of preparing food was just too hard. As a parent, I’m not entirely convinced of their usefulness in the kitchen.

Mr. 12 would be happy eating waffles breakfast every day! My husband rolls his eyes every time the word waffle is mentioned. I like eating toasties, although I always feel bloated and ugh afterwards. I’m thinking that large amounts of melted cheese probably has a lot to do with it.

Sad to say, we have never used the third grill plate option. I have a perfectly good oven to do that. The other two plates have had their fair share of use, so I’m prepared to go out on a limb here and say it probably has paid for itself by now.

Tonight I’m scouring the web for a neutral waffle mix recipe, not sweet, not savoury. Something that I can serve under baked beans or raspberry jam or honey and lemon.

Tonight it’s all about an easy dinner, it’s been a long week and the upcoming one is shaping up to be more of the same.

Enjoy your Sunday evening 😉

8 comments

  1. It’s amazing how many gadgets you can accumulate. This one falls into the category of non-essential, even if it is very nice to have.

    Like

    • Combo of milk, eggs, flour, salt, melted butter, and baking soda. Worked a treat with the baked beans AND cream’n’jam.

      Like

I've said my bit! Now it's your turn :) Go on, have your say.

